HERETIC, the US power/thrashers known for their '86 EP "Torture Knows No Boundary" and '88 LP "Breaking Point" (both on Metal Blade Records), have risen from the ashes and are ready to take some heads off with their new album! The band's founder, guitarist and composer Brian Korban recruited Julian Mendez who sang on their first EP, as well as prominent musicians: guitarist Glenn Rogers (ex-HIRAX, ex-DELIVERANCE, and many others) and bassist Angelo Espino (BITCH, ex-REVEREND, ex-HIRAX, etc.). What the band presents here is not only top-notch musicianship, but most of all very classic and solid songwriting without any modern experiments. This perfectly balanced blend of power and thrash metal in the best US tradition should appeal to all fans of METAL CHURCH, REVEREND, WAYNE, old METALLICA, MELIAH RAGE and ARMORED SAINT, but influences from BLACK SABBATH, JUDAS PRIEST and MOTORHEAD are quite clear too.


July 2012

HERETIC is a classic style power/thrash metal band formed in 1985 in Los Angeles, California. The band name was originated by Brian Korban (guitarist and funding member), and became the title of the first song he wrote for the group. Brian also designed the band’s classic logo, and conceived the cover arts for the band's albums. In the beginning, HERETIC's line-up consisted of Brian on guitar, Mike Torres on vocals (later in ABATTOIR), Scott Patton on bass, Rick Halpin on guitar and Rick Merrick on drums. With time, Rick Halpin and Scott Patton were replaced by two mainstay group members, guitarist Robert Marquez and bassist Dennis O'Hara.

HERETIC drew a lot of positive attention from a fast-growing LA music scene, and was quickly signed by Metal Blade Records. The group was showcased on "Metal Massacre 7" (1986) with the song "Impulse". Soon after, Mike Torres quit to join the band ABATTOIR. Without missing a beat, the band chose a new vocalist, Julian Mendez to replace Torres and shortly afterwards, HERETIC went into the studio to record their EP "Torture Knows No Boundary" (1986).

The band had the opportunity to open for many big name acts, such as METALLICA, MEGADETH, SAXON, MOTORHEAD, ARMORED SAINT, METAL CHURCH, RIOT and THE PLASMATICS, to name a few. With management and label pressures, chose to replace vocalist Mendez with singer Mike Howe. HERETIC followed up with the release of their LP "Breaking Point" (1988). Unfortunately, the group disbanded soon after, due to Howe's decision to join METAL CHURCH. Brian Korban and Dennis O'Hara regrouped and formed the band REVEREND, with legendary vocalist David Wayne (METAL CHURCH).

Newly reformed in 2011 by the founding member, guitarist and songwriter Brian Korban and vocalist Julian Mendez (who sang on the band's first release, "Torture Knows No Boundary" EP from 1986), HERETIC and its new line-up is a powerhouse of prominent metal musicians. Joining HERETIC are long-time friends and collaborators, guitarist Glenn Rogers (ex-HIRAX, ex-DELIVERANCE, ex-STEEL VENGEANCE and others) and bassist Angelo Espino (ex-REVEREND, ex-HIRAX, ex-ANGER AS ART, ex-UNCLE SLAM, BITCH and others). The final piece to the puzzle comes by way of the thundering drums of Ignazio Coppola (3RD STRIKE).

Since the reunion, the band played several shows, including a 3 dates at the end of July 2011 together with MALICE and BITCH, the New Year's Eve concert with BENEDICTUM and SEVENTH CALLING and at the end of March 2012 the performance at the Metal Summit festival with 13 other bands.

Still in 2011 the first new songs started taking shape. In writing the new material for its upcoming CD, the revamped HERETIC is sticking to its classic metal roots. Some titles include "For Your Faith" (a song asking why we kill in the name of religion), "Betrayed" (about a friend's betrayal when pushed to the edge), "Remains" (a song about a suicidal son's last letter to his dysfunctional parents before dying), and "Police State" (a harsh look at power and politics). In March 2012 the band entered in the Trench Studios with producer John Anthony Haddad (known for his work with HIRAX) to record the first three songs, then in April four further songs were recorded and the final recording sessions will take place at the end of May.

Also still in 2011 the band contacted Metal On Metal Records that happened to be big fans of both HERETIC album and EP. Upon hearing three new songs the label had no doubts that it was going to be a great come back and the contract for the release of "A Time of Crisis" was signed.

HERETIC is looking forward to a busy year, with new and old generations of metal fans waiting to devour their new offerings. "A Time of Crisis" was released on July 26th 2012. There's been a feeling of unfinished business with this band, and these seasoned musicians intend to see HERETIC and its music live on, having created a really solid album in the best US metal tradition: heavy, melodic and aggressive. DON'T TURN YOUR BACK!

Power/Thrash Metal

USA (Los Angeles, CA), 1985

Julian Mendez (vocals)
Brian Korban (guitars)
Stuart Fujinami (guitars)
Angelo Espino (bass)
Dave Chedrick (drums)

Heretic website
Heretic @ Facebook
Heretic YouTube playlist

"Torture Knows No Boundary" (1986)
EP, Metal Blade
"Breaking Point" (1988)
Full-length, Metal Blade
"A Time of Crisis" (2012)
Full-length, Metal On Metal Records