SACRED GATE "Tides of War" (CD)Traditional Heavy Metal (April 2013)


TITLE: "Tides of War"
GENRE: Traditional Heavy Metal
RELEASE DATE: April 19th, 2013
LABEL: Metal On Metal Records
BARCODE: 8022167090399
FORMAT: CD in jewel case • 10 tracks (approx. 57 min.) • 12 pages stapled booklet with lyrics, liner notes, band photos and info • All full-color

1. The Coming Storm (1:50)
2. The Immortal One (5:57)
3. Tides of War (6:01)
4. Defenders (Valour Is in Our Blood) (4:39)
5. Gates of Fire (4:47)
6. Never to Return (4:43)
7. The Final March (5:53)
8. Spartan Killing Machine (5:22)
9. Path to Glory (5:24)
10. The Battle of Thermopylae (12:51)

Total playing time: 57:19

"Tides of War" album promo clip
"Defenders (Valour Is in Our Blood)" static promo clip
"Spartan Killing Machine" static promo clip
"Warriors of the World United" (MANOWAR cover)

Germany-based SACRED GATE release a new album, only a year after their debut came out. Stronger and more confident than before, they forge traditional heavy metal with US power metal elements. Outstanding guitar work, strong, melodic but rough vocals and a tight rhythm section are highlighted by clear but not too modern production. While IRON MAIDEN can be still quoted as their biggest influence, they have moved away from it a few steps, crystallizing their personal recognizable style. "Tides of War" is a concept album about the Spartans' and their allies' heroic fight for freedom against Persians at the pass of Thermopylae. A tale told in such a convincing way, not only through words, but also through music, that it should awaken the warrior spirit in every true metalhead, regardless the nationality. An epic work in every respect. Fans of ICED EARTH, ASKA, BLAZE, BLITZKRIEG, SAXON, DESTILLERY, THUNDERBOLT and METAL LAW - check it out!

• The 2nd full-length of this German traditional heavy metal band is an excellently crafted concept album about the Battle of Thermopylae.
• Very solid and professional recording and production.
• Cover art by JP Fournier (Pharaoh, Nightmare, Seven Witches, Edguy, Lonewolf, Avantasia, Steel Attack...).
• For fans of: Iron Maiden, Aska, Iced Earth, Blaze, Destillery, Thunderbolt, Blitzkrieg, Saxon, Metal Law...

Cover art by J.P. Fournier (