SACRED GATE "Countdown to Armageddon" (CD)Traditional Heavy / Power Metal (November 2016)


TITLE: "Countdown to Armageddon"
GENRE: Traditional Heavy Metal
RELEASE DATE: November 18th, 2016
LABEL: Metal On Metal Records
BARCODE: 8022167090665
FORMAT: CD in jewel case • 11 tracks (approx. 59 min.) • 6 pages fold-out booklet with lyrics and info • All full-color

1. The End Begins
2. Angel of Darkness
3. Legions of the North
4. The Flames of War
5. Hellriders
6. Under the Normandy Sky
7. Sacred Gate
8. Mankind's Fall
9. The Oath of the Damned
10. Countdown to Armageddon
11. Made of Iron [bonus track]

Total playing time: 59:22

"Countdown to Armageddon" album promo clip
"The Oath of the Damned" static promo clip
"Sacred Gate" static promo clip

If Armageddon is anything like the new SACRED GATE album, it would be something to count down the days to with excitement! The already solid songwriting known from this German traditional heavy metal band's two previous albums has developed even more as they have further consolidated their own style, which often brings to mind '80s US power metal, gives a few nods to NWOBHM, but also verges on thrash in some chunky riffs. The addition of a new singer with dynamic, melodic and full of passion vocals has facilitated it and helped the band reach their artistic maturity. It's hard not to appreciate the intricate arrangements, catchy choruses, flowing leads with beautiful, epic melodies and the robust rhythm section, especially when the powerful production helps them shine. A well thought out and musically intoxicating album, which should find its place in the collections of metalheads who love bands such as SAXON, ICED EARTH, IRON MAIDEN, ASKA, BLAZE, DESTILLERY, THUNDERBOLT, METAL LAW, METAL INQUISITOR, early ARTCH or BLITZKRIEG!

• The third full-length of this German traditional heavy metal band.
• Very solid and professional recording and production.
• Cover art by J.P. Fournier (Pharaoh, Nightmare, Seven Witches, Edguy, Lonewolf, Avantasia, Steel Attack...).
• For fans of: Saxon, Iced Earth, Iron Maiden, Aska, Blaze, Destillery, Thunderbolt, Metal Law, Metal Inquisitor, early Artch, Blitzkrieg...

Cover art by J.P. Fournier (